So as a T1 pilot, I'm seeing a lot of T2 ships in matches

So, I’m not sure if matchmaking is working as intended as I am a new player, but from what I understood from TBs WTFis video is that T2 ships won’t face T1 ships unless there is a T2 in their hanger, yet I have all T1 ships, two being MK3 ships but still T1, yet I’ve seen a lot of T2 ships.

So is matchmaking by teir and people are bypassing the system, or is matchmaking not by teir and by some other category i am unaware of?

It used to be like in TB’s video, but it was chaned a few patches ago. Now tiers are being mixed, so t1 can land together with some t2, t2 can land with some t3 and so on.

Thanks for letting me know the devs just are idiots and don’t realize lower teir ships are at a horrible disadvantage in mixed fights

I just assume it happens when there aren’t enough players for your cue, the game seems to go out of its way to only go one rank above or below as best it can, but I’ve seen a few weird matches. Nothing funner than seeing that one team with all tier 2 ships except for one rank 7 ECM with nukes on it making its appearance, the pugs don’t know whats coming so you get to watch your entire beacon squad just disappear.

I just assume it happens when there aren’t enough players for your cue, the game seems to go out of its way to only go one rank above or below as best it can, but I’ve seen a few weird matches. Nothing funner than seeing that one team with all tier 2 ships except for one rank 7 ECM with nukes on it making its appearance, the pugs don’t know whats coming so you get to watch your entire beacon squad just disappear.

Oh god that…

OP, it’s actually more a factor of win-rate, if you have rank 3s in there. The better your win rate, the more likely you end up in T2. Not to say you can’t suceed, though; I did plenty well with my Herc 2 in T2. Just gotta know how to break off engagements and run for your ball.