Recent balancing changes poll.

Pilots, what do you think of the recent balancing changes in updates 0.10.x?

I’m not a fan of all of the changes:

Heavy blaster change I personally found a shame but going by what I heard frigate pilots love it for PVP and as an interceptor pilot I love it, too, so I suppose on the psychological level it’s an all around success.

Kinetic damage was already marginal and after both shrapnel and uranium ammo nerfs it’s even less relevant. Buffing coil mortars and assault rails did not offset that although I’m good with those buffs. As an interceptor pilot I often receive <5% kinetic damage during a battle which gives hull tanks (empire) quite the edge.

On the other hand supernova plasma guns are the highest range, second highest dps weapon for interceptors now. Best of both worlds instead of a trade off? Not sure that’s how you should balance. After the booster circuit nerf supernova ammo remains the only interesting ammo available to EM weapons, the other two providing just minimal buffs.

Passive module changes went in the same direction, both the buffs and the drawbacks were reduced to overall bring everybody closer to the same level and remove the possibility for creative builds. To me it’s always a bit of a shame and/or inconsistent in a game which is centered around upgrading your ships + loadouts but development has been going into this direction for a while. During all of this the chance was missed to rebalance shield vs hull mods.

Active module buffs felt excessive for spy drones and LRF pulsar, the rest was good.

tl;dr: unlike previous major patches the changes in 0.10.x were no game changers but felt in line with the direction taken in 0.9.x. If given the choice I would adjust that direction somewhat but at least with a more stable development plan we know what to expect so it’s not bad.