How effective are ship modules and weapons?

Watched NuclearHail’s video on the “murdergnat” 

Was pretty entertaining, and was amazed how he could just eat ships and noticed the fully maxed equipment. Honestly getting pretty frustrated at the game and want to quit already. Reached r8 Empire interceptor (Swarm) today and now not only are engi’s, dessies and guards out repping my dps, now even the paid ships like the sigurdr are just tearing me apart and taking close to no damage. Do interceptors get better at higher ranks, or do I just have to pay $$$ to afford decent equipment when unlocking a new ship? Ships seem to be getting alot worse for me, i’m only getting a k/d of about 0.7 when it was above 5:1 when I started playing in the lower ranked ships. Even with my 300 or so speed, fed ships seem to be doing well over 500 and same goes for some of the Jericho intercepors, and i’m doing sub 40 damage per shot on non-guard ships. I really want to enjoy this game, but the many many amounts of annoyances like paid ships, destroyers and being completely out-classed by players with far superior ships to me is making me hate this game already.

WoW the gnat is super fast.!!!

Focus on the basics of this game. It is not the balance of ships that is the problem but rather it is the players who throw themselves recklessly into the line of fire, dying and ultimately contributing nothing to the team effort that are the problem.

Ship positioning, tactical awareness, good usage of modules, and flying in a squad. Those are basics you have to focus on if you ever want to become good at this game.

Mk4 equipment is only marginally better than Mk2 equipment. It is the SKILL of the pilot flying the ships that determine whether or not they can turn the tide of a battle. I guarantee you that if you ask any of the longtime vets on these forums to 1v1 in a mk2 ship against a newer player in a maxed ship, the outcome is that they will win 99% of the time.