Dont give me many choices

Ok so I read the newest patch and I dont see anything about Workshop having reqs to use, yet my workshop is Grayed out and unusable. Is this a glitch or a game change not covered under the patch info? also, as a beginner can you explain the purpose of having NPC pirate fighters that can 4 shot my Steel Harpy in areas that are suposed to be beginner access? I cant go further until i get past access lvl 6 yet the areas I have to do task and explore are filled with wave after wave of fighters that hit harder than players in PvP with top teir craft. It seems completely unbalanced and makes little sense especially when you are now limiting players to create balance in a game that obviously has none lol. like I said I just started playing and have no clue, I dont expect it to be easy but at the same time, I dont expect to be farmed by a single ship in the mine area thats only 3-4 jumps from the hanger area and only the FIRST SECTOR of the game i can access when im on teir 3 to 4 ships with purple everything almost lol but seriously, the workshop being grayed is why im making this but you dont offer that as a forum option so I figured I’d say something about open space, other than that love the game, and id love to spend money on it but after 4 days to have a change like this im a lil leary and gonna have to wait to see where yall are going with this.

If you were to hover your mouse over the Workshop button, you would see that you need clearance level 6 to unlock it, and by no means you are supposed to use a LRF(or sniper) in Open Space for doing tasks, let alone fighting enemies in the front line, judging by your situation I presume you didn’t even build it properly for that, your best luck is to use a fast and nimble ship.

Or a guard, because literally everyone can play a guard.