Mecronmancer

POLL TIME! What Times Work Best for NA Players on Dreadnought Battles?

  

37 members have voted

  1. 1. What dreadnought battle times work for you? Check all that apply.

    • 4PM PST / 6PM CST / 7PM EST
      5
    • 5PM PST / 7PM CST / 8PM EST
      8
    • 6PM PST / 8PM CST / 9PM EST
      14
    • 7PM PST / 9PM CST / 10PM EST
      15
    • 8PM PST / 10PM CST / 11PM EST
      21
    • 9PM PST / 11PM CST / 12AM EST
      18
    • 10PM PST / 12AM CST / 1AM EST
      12
    • 11PM PST / 1AM CST / 2AM EST
      5
  2. 2. What do you think of the current NA battle time?

    • One is enough - and the battle time is fine.
      1
    • One is enough - but I want the time tweaked according to this data.
      11
    • We need more than one to accomodate the NA population.
      25


Recommended Posts

Hello all!

 

So with the implementation of 1.1.6, we have seen the removal of the Asian timeslot for dreadnought battles, and the condensation of Federation NA battle times into one: 9pm CST. While this is convenient for some of our NA demographic, it may not be ideal for others. Having only one dreadnought battle time for the entirety of the NA playerbase is... shall we say "less than ideal". 

 

We should be having multiple battle times for our playerbase, as people's schedules differ. Some can battle earlier, others later. The question is, what times work best for us?

 

Therefore, I would like to take this opportunity to gather some statistical information for the developers. Simply fill out this poll with the best times that you can fight, and hopefully the devs will look at this data to formulate a good compromising time for the NA community.

 

Developers, please use the results of this poll to help you tweak your battle times. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

 

NOTE: I am aware that our schedules change. We all have busy lives. Just give me the times that you think would work best for you.

 

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE spread the link to this poll to everyone you know in the NA community. We will have better times for dreadnought battles with the more data we get.

 

ALSO, please DO NOT fill out this poll if you do not play dreadnoughts during NA hours. You will skew the data and make me very disgruntled.

 

Thank you for participating in the poll! Here, have a picture of a floofy bunny as my thanks.

tpdgpcv.jpg

  • Upvote 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You forgot something Mecron, fed space was originally split in two so that the SEA players could have a battle time to play in. The recent change has taken that time away from them, and given it to the RU community.

 

On your second question, you should add an option for "move new fed space battle time back to a time compatible for SEA players"

 

Imo, I think that one time for US players and one time for SEA players would be adequate, as some US players (those who stay up late) were able to make the SEA time, but I don't think the US players should have 2 battle times, without giving SEA one first.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I belive it was removed simply due the fact that there are almost no SEA based players, pretty much all who participated in that zone were Americans with mix of Russians, so practicaly we did have 2 cycles for Americans, but wasnt to bad because youde get 2 battles on very lucky day.

I have no issue with territories given away to different timezone, it did not make sense to have that many location per amount of dread capable corporations in these hours, my issue is time zones. Befor 2 cycles covered in ok way americas coast to coast, but now it is only 1 cycle 5 time zones, it is just to early for to many

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If we get enough traffic and voting it is possible, in theory to get 2 cycles.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dirk, that's why I put the option in for 2 battles. We can do that, but the objective of this poll is to gather information from NA players specifically. Of course, any SEA and SA players that play during these hours are more than welcome to reply to this poll, but the majority of the playerbase during these hours are NA.

 

I can't factor in too many variables into this poll, lest we have something confound our statistics.

 

On the bright side, it does look like our results lean towards having 2 cycles. Maybe your idea could be implemented!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The new time for Velorum sector (6.00 PDT) is good for me at night as it is 11.00pm here in Australia's east coast.

 

On weekends I can generally get into the (19.00 PDT) time slot for Olympus, Erubus and Haldon as that is noon here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hopefully you've voted then! Also, can you get some of your Beasts to vote too? Halffast didn't reply to his mail yet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This thread is officially supported by the devs. Nice work.

 

Not sure what's changed internally at StarGem/Gaijin, but I'm actually starting to think they care about non-RU players now. Which is really, really, REALLY nice to see.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Right?? I hope that stays - we might get a bigger NA playerbase with that right attitude.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i have a different proposal all together. split the dn battles in 4 instead of 3. get about equal amount of sectors in each group. then put 2 groups for russian time and 2 for us. 1 should be early morning, 1 should be late evening. adjust it so that 1 group from the russian and 1 from american overlap with early morning/late evening for european time. this will be the most convenient option and make all happy.

edit: adding to my proposal, can the devs please get the ingame timers to automatically convert to the player local time or UTC?

 

thoughts?

 

 

 

ps: stop using weird timezones that ppl have to google for 5 mins and convert. all use UTC for clarity.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ps: stop using weird timezones that ppl have to google for 5 mins and convert. all use UTC for clarity.

this poll is specificaly for pilots playing in North American time zones, these are standart abbreviation used in America.

Feel fre to create a separate thread for your idea and use w/e abbreviations you can comprehend.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Right?? I hope that stays - we might get a bigger NA playerbase with that right attitude.

 

I seriously hope so. This game used to have a fairly large NA player base when it was first released on Steam. It would be nice to see similar numbers to those again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've just posted the link to this thread on my website and I've told my pilots that it is extremely important that they come vote on this poll.  Expect more votes throughout the week from FDEF pilots.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Many thanks, Xelavian! I'd give you a sweetroll but I'm not authorized to do such things  :005j:  :005j:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

TWENTY SEVEN pilots have voted! We should have at least 30 to have a good statistical distribution! PLEASE VOTE, and make your voice heard about when you want to do dreadnought battles!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Why are there 12 votes for 9 PM CDT if there's already a dread battle time then?

 

... Especially if there are no votes for "one is enough - and the battle time is fine"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Why are there 12 votes for 9 PM CDT if there's already a dread battle time then?

 

... Especially if there are no votes for "one is enough - and the battle time is fine"

Because you can choose more than one poll option to vote for. It's the current best time it seems, so what I'm assuming is that people are voting for both it and another timezone.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This thread is officially supported by the devs. Nice work.

 

Not sure what's changed internally at StarGem/Gaijin, but I'm actually starting to think they care about non-RU players now. Which is really, really, REALLY nice to see.

There is one thing Russia & US can agree on is space exploration.

 IE Russia helping after the SpaceX shuttle explosion. Big frowny face, a setback for corporate space advancement. SpaceX is still pushing along strong though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is one thing Russia & US can agree on is space exploration.

 IE Russia helping after the SpaceX shuttle explosion. Big frowny face, a setback for corporate space advancement. SpaceX is still pushing along strong though.

SpaceX is one of the best things to ever happen to Humankind.

 

And yeah, RU/USA cooperation in space has been a pretty consistent thing for a while now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Times got changed, but not to the one most voted for. Which is interesting.

The timezones in-game don't take Daylight Savings into account, so currently the battles are at Midnight EST.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Alright guys there is total misunderstanding from both sides. The mentioned time is confusing. We took the most popular EST time and changed the battle time according to it. In order to avoid any further situations like that please don't use time zones that have different interpretations and require to do the whole research to get it right if you live in another continent. But on the bright side, guys the difference is only one hour. One. And the current option is on the second place in popularity.

  • Upvote 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.